The Shoulder Season

Dear Diary,

Now that we are through Labor Day we enter those few brief weeks of "in between"...what travelers call the shoulder season.  Summer travel is essentially over with the start of school and the "leaf peeping" season is still a few weeks away.  I thought this photograph of my friends lonely dock was a good illustration for it.

It is as if the world is taking a deep breath to prepare itself for the glorious display of color.  It is neither here nor there but in between.  Back in my teaching days I hardly noticed this time of year since I was so involved with setting up my classroom and greeting students.   Now, I can really appreciate this shoulder season.

Everyday I see fewer birds and the butterflies are gone.  That tell tale smell of approaching autumn is in the air and the old maple tree outside my window is showing bits of yellow on some leaves.  Frankly, I am ready.  I look forward to the darkening days.  This has seemed like a long, hot summer that needs putting to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.