The Red Claw Tavern

Dear Diary,

The Red Claw Tavern is my favorite local eatery.  It is part of Bay Haven, a seafood restaurant.  They serve the best lobster stew and lobster casserole and I try to go there a couple times a month.  Surprisingly, there are several excellent local establishments so I needn't go all the way into Portland for a great meal.  Karen and I will be eating in Portland on Friday after our visit to the Winslow Homer Studio...I'm really looking forward to our outing and the weather looks perfect.

On a more somber note, one of my Blue Boys flew into the glass door of the guest room and was killed instantly.  I heard the thud and went out to investigate.  I was so upset as you can imagine.  I took him away and buried him in the woods and on my way back I saw Philomena watching me from the stone wall.  I do care so deeply for my little ones.  It's so hard when one dies.

It is also a bad omen when a bird strikes a window.  Five years ago I was staying in a cottage on South Uist in Scotland when a bird hit my bedroom window.  Two days later I learned my neighbor here in Maine had died.  I hope that isn't the case now.  I am not an overly superstitious person generally but this always makes my skin crawl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.