Knights of Nottingham

Basil and I went to the Sutton Bonington Show, with which I was very impressed. Livestock, crafts, and a cafe serving tea! Lots of places to sit down, including benches set out around the ring.

While we were waiting for the Knights of Nottingham to start jousting, a bird from the bird of prey display chose to fly off and settle on an ice cream van. It was 15 minutes before it consented to return to a handler. Another bird flew into a roost in nearby trees!

The knights were very entertaining. I didn't realise that they lived so close. It's a family concern based at Bunny Hill Riding Centre. That explains the super horses and the horsemanship. They've also won the champion jousting tournament held in the USA twice.

Of course, today was the day I'd chosen to take off my long lens and replace it with a 35mm prime. It's a super lens though. 

Fred bought me a cup of tea after the show. Then Baz and I went in search of Hayley who had a stall in the corner of the craft tent. Better late than never. She was doing quite well with enquiries and had had to turn down two weddings as the dates were already booked. You have to get in early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.