Bee Ascending

Finally got out this afternoon and parked at the top of Hathern Road near Oakley Grange Farm. I was surprised by the amount of traffic travelling between Hathern and Shepshed. Perhaps it's down to ongoing work on the A42.

There's a very wide grass verge, so I let Basil off his lead. He trotted off in front of me and every now and then, turned round to check I was still there. Returning, he seemed very reluctant, and followed me up the hill.

Despite the traffic, the road skirts farmland on the Garendon Estate which is projected to be covered by housing in the not too distant future. The people at the top of the hill will have a grand view of Charnwood Forest to the south.

In the meantime, it's surprising what wildlife can be spotted. A hawk was perching on a telephone wire. Small white butterflies were foraging for feed, a variety of bees and hoverflies continue to gather nectar for winter storage. Ripening hips and haws promise bounty for birds.

I was lucky to catch this bee rising from a pink clover. It's not absolutely pin sharp but I hope it will do.

This morning, I discovered teeny tiny toadstools in the lawn.

Basil and I fetched up at Oakley Grange tea room for tea and cheese scone. Several litters of piglets about, at different ages.

I tried not to think about them when I went in to pay and also bought a shoulder of pork for a dinner later this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.