MONO MONDAY - MEMORABLE

Memorable - worth remembering especially because of being special or unusual.

In 2007, I saw an advertisement from the Swindon Fairtrade Coalition asking for entries to a competition to find four photographs to produce a postcard for Swindon.  I had taken a shot of a tree in Queens Park early in November, with the light shining through the trees and a thin frost on the grass, so decided to enter this, never expecting to win.  However, a few weeks later, I heard that mine was one of the winners!  

As part of the Swindon Festival of Literature, the prizes were being awarded by George Alagiah, OBE a patron of the Fairtrade Foundation and a renowned British newsreader, journalist and television news presenter, so Mr. HCB and I were very excited to be meeting him.

George spoke at the Awards Ceremony and it really was a memorable evening.  He was a lovely man, very gentle, amusing and interesting and although I don’t remember what he said to me when he handed me a copy of his book, “A Home from Home”, I do remember what a wonderful occasion it was.  He signed his book - one I will always treasure - with a copy of the postcard inside, together with a photograph of George and me -  and the tickets.

“I've learned that people will forget 
     what you said, 
          people will forget what you did, 
               but people will never forget 
                    how you made them feel.” 
Maya Angelou

P.S.  Thank you for all your comments, stars and hearts over the last couple of days - I apologise for my lack of comments.  The last few days have been rather "full-on" but I hope to be back commenting soon.  M xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.