Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Thompson twins

I am not sure these lion cubs are actually twins.  There was a third one around.  John (our driver) says that he thinks that they were about a month and a half old.  We had just had a huge downpour with lots of lightning and thunder but the lions were as cool as cucumbers until a herd of wildebeest and zebra came strolling past when they suddenly became interested.  The light was just terrible at this time well after sunset so my ISO is a bit off the chart but it has come out reasonably well.

It was another very full on day.  We saw some small crossings.  These Topi just stood up on the bank, surveyed the scene and then crossed.  An old Gnu strolled across and some zebras charged at full pace with some other wildebeest.  Not the mass I saw before but it will do if that is all I see.

We also saw a jackal kill.  Something I haven't seen before.  I have put the jackal carrying the kill away in the extra for those that might be a bit squeamish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.