Early snow activity

This week Mt Tongario erupted. It's on the Central Plateau of the North Island.

It's one of 3 active volcanoes side by side. It's where little hpx first experienced snow.

On the left I'm about 3 years old. I have some very clear early memories and my first trip to the snow is one of them. We traveled in our Austin and got a puncture on the way to Mt Ruapehu.

I was hugely excited and couldn't wait to get the snow. Mum had us all decked out in woolen trousers, jerseys, socks and mittens. Our mittens were covered in plastic and feet enclosed in gumboots.

I lasted until the tears begun.

"What's wrong" said Dad.
"Daddy, someone's put pepper in my boots!" I wailed.

Yes, at 3 years of age I equated the pain of cold feet with the heat of pepper. But you can see I pretty determined to go fast on the sled Dad built.

See large for more speed ;-)

On the right we're traveling from Wellington to Auckland. Just north of Taihape came upon snow stretching all the way to the top of Mounts Ruapehu, Ngauruhoe and Tonagario.

I don't know what I had in mind with that snow ball, possibly my sister ;-) With bare hands that idea wouldn't have lasted long. Mum would have knitted my jersey and made the woolen trousers.

Lot's of good memories. Maybe you remember my account of seeing Mt Ngauruhoe erupt when I was little.

After work I went shopping for crampons. The theme continues ;-) (but none purchased yet).

Better get on with helping Dad with their computer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.