Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Got my eye(s) on you!

I thought this interesting looking fly would be apt for Tiny Tuesday - unfortunately, I've been unable to id it so have put a plea out on a couple of insect web sights.  As best as I can determine, it is some sort of Flesh Fly ( family Sarcophagidae)  Probably should have posted this chubby little guy since at least I knew what it was.  

Out this morning for a walk with my nature group - great time, as always with some interesting sights, including beautiful, fresh little Meadow Fritillaries - they are quite tiny, especially as compared to most frits.  

Got home about 2 this afternoon and, with a fair amount of dread, went to check on #42 (the monarch who eclosed yesterday missing two legs and one "foot").  Surprise!  She was fluttering around her enclosure, looking very lively.  After some coaxing, she got on my finger and I took er carefully out.  No sooner did she clear the cage when she was OFF - soaring high and straight!  I honestly didn't expect such a good outcome, although I'd been told that they can survive fine with two legs, just so long as they can fly.  To make a great day even better, I was also able to release #43 and #44 today.  Two more chrysalids are darkening nicely so should make their debut tomorrow.  

Meanwhile, in the older cat nursery, 9 big fat cats headed to the top of the enclosure last night to get ready to pupate. As of a little while ago, two had successfully pupated and four more were "J'd".  Still four more fatties eating, but I expect they'll move into position tonight or tomorrow.

The second nursery, which houses smaller cats, is doing well with all 3rd and 4th instars now.  The heat later this week should speed them along.  And I learned today from the fellow I gave the 13 little cats to that 12 have already eclosed and been released with the final one expected to leave today.  A very successful year so far and I think I may be on track for 75 releases...

I am having a great deal of fun looking at all the TinyTuesday 67 entries that have been posted so far. You guys are definitely not making it easy on me as there are many wonderful images being posted.  Do have a look!

Cheers, people,
Debbi

PS, and the day started when I startled a bear on the patio - fortunately, he was even more put off than I was and he ran into the woods.  Fall is coming...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.