Sunshine on Shoreditch

Today I joined in a Blipmeet in East London.  Fourteen Blippers met in Liverpool Street station although ladypop  was the only one I previously knew - she suggested that we go. We aimed initially for Brick Lane, a street with a largely Bangladeshi community now, though over the years various ethnic groups have settled there. It's between Shoreditch and Whitechapel, I suppose.

The big attraction was the street art, or graffiti, depending on your point of view! If somebody draws on your wall, it's graffiti; if it's in Brick Lane, it's art! A great deal of it is extremely good, some of it by obviously talented artists, whereas other less artistic folk just spray over it with the usual mess!

We had lunch at the Cantina Argentina and also visited the Nomadic Community Garden, which had more 'art' than garden and was a great source of inspiration. We ended up in Spitalfields Market. When I return home I'll sort all the pictures out and put some of the best on Flickr.

Apart from street art I took pictures of the buildings and the people - some informal portraits were stolen, others asked for! It's hard to pick a Blip from more than 230 images, but eventually I chose this gentleman hurrying down the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.