If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

A bird in the hand.

Another day round home and a very wet one at that.  I decided my best chance of a blip was going to be a bird either on the feeders or near to them.  To this end I opened the living room window and sat quietly with the camera.

Not a bad day for birds with the following species going on my BTO Garden Bird Watch  record:

Blue Tit, Chaffinch, Coal Tit, Dunnock, Goldfinch, Great Tit, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Greenfinch,Pheasant,Robin, Siskin, Wood Pigeon and Willow Warbler.

I moved away from the window to go and put the kettle on and when I came back this juvenile Greenfinch was fluttering behind the drawn back blinds.  Well it was too good a chance to miss.  I picked up the bird in one hand the camera in the other and popped outside.  This is the nearest to a selfie you will get from me, my hand!

One of my followers will realise from this shot that although I wanted to rain to ring I never found anyone prepared to train me.  For those who don't know I would be holding it completely differently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.