Saturday Shenanigans

You know when you've had one of those very long tiring weeks that just drain the life and soul out of you, then the weekend comes around and you think, hurrah for that, but you don't think anyone is free to play out so you plan....just let me take a breath here....and you plan to nip into town for a quick trip because the sun is shining and you don't want to sit around and waste the day....but then suddenly it gets better and better and before you can say I hate Keith Lemon (he was just on TV and I couldn't think what else to say) you have a really good day. Well today was one of those days!

I had considered going down to the Quays to join in the open water training session to prepare for next week....oh God is it really only seven days away??...but I couldn't get up early enough and the new shorty wetsuit I had ordered had arrived two days ago, the only trouble was there was more of me to cover than there was wetsuit. Anyway, I had a lie in. 

Jude was going in to town to meet a friend for lunch and I had decided to nip along to London Street Fire Station to see the pop up event ...new creative people in Manchester and food stalls and live music...so we met up and jumped on the bus. As Jude was early we sat outside the Oast House and quaffed a cheeky white wine spritzer before she headed off and I hiked across the city. 

There were loads of people enjoying the food and music in the sunshine and the stalls were good, but I didn't stay too long. After a wander round I went off and mooched around town. I overheard a snippet of conversation as two girls passed by me and I had an urge to write down a list of conversational clips that I had heard so I nipped in Waterstones to buy a notebook. Whilst there I realised I was feeling peckish so I went up to the cafe and tried to eavesdrop on conversations as I ate a snackette. 

I met up with Jude again and she was a wee bit tipsy after having a few wines with her lunch, she was hilarious as she chatted with a street musician. As he strung up his drums....that sounds soooo wrong doesn't it he he he ....she persuaded him to play a couple of songs that she danced....on her own!...to. 

We ended up in Kedma and were sweet talked into buying dead sea salt skin stuff....actually it smells and feels divine...although we sweet talked the man into giving us a free eye treatment and two free gifts. We smelt good, we felt good, we were laughing, the sun was shining, we bought an ice cream in Patisserie Valerie, I bought a print from a craft stall and we just soaked up the day. I added a few more conversational clips to my notebook and then we caught the bus home.

I called in on Sian for a cuppa and a catch up....it was a tardis sort of a day where more and more things just kept fitting in....before I went back to Jude's and we picked up a Chinese take away. 

So....in a Virginia Woolf stream of consciousness sort of way that is my Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.