High Street £18: Supermarket £0

After my packaging rant the other day, it was time to redress the balance.

Wholemeal rolls plus apple & rhubarb pies from the baker.
Salmon from the fishmonger.
A pile of veggies from the greengrocer, plus this week’s “soup bag” - carrot, sweet potato and ginger. Eggs as well.
Black pudding from the butcher.

I have 4 or 5 meals in there.

I will have to lower myself to go to the supermarket tomorrow. I need yoghurt.

Folk talk about supermarkets being convenient. Well the baker, fishmonger and greengrocer are next door to each other and the butcher is across the street. No checkout queues. No “unexpected items in the bagging area”.

Very unusually for me - no meal plan or shopping list! I just bought what looked good. Maybe I’m going renegade in my old late middle age.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.