The Spire of St Peter's, Thornton

Temperatures for early this morning were forecast to be lower than they have been in recent weeks. Given that it had rained yesterday, and the forecast was fine for today, there was a strong possibility of early morning mist.

I drank coffee while at the printing course yesterday, so my system remained on alert all night. I couldn't sleep. To be fair, the prospect of getting to see magical sights at Thornton Reservoir also weighed on my mind.

I rose at 5.30 am, dressed and had a cup of tea. Made sure the camera wheelie bag was fully equipped, roused the dog and headed off at 6 am.

Once over the Forest in Markfield, the mist came in swathes, sweeping up the sides of the Soar Valley and hanging low over the fields. Thornton Reservoir was every bit as lovely as I had hoped.

I trundled my camera case and carried my tripod round the first third of the circuit before turning back to the car park. Check out the photos.

Basil had a wonderful time, meeting other dogs, frolicking in the dew and exploring strange footpaths. I had to call him back several times. We met Wendy pushing a push chair which she uses to bring Dandy, her spaniel, home from his walk. He has a heart condition and can only walk for 30 minutes.

Both of us were happy enough to return home where Basil is laid out now on the bed and I shall shortly follow to catch up on some sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.