Listening to the Band

I was up early to take my photos down to the Show Tent for our Village Horticultural Show before we drove in the direction of Barnsley to orienteer in Wombwell Woods.  It was a good little event in a pretty wood and I'm pleased that my calves behaved, probably because I was wearing my new very jazzy compression socks!

Once back home we had a cuppa and then walked down to the showground to the sounds of Airedale Knitter's (and MrAK's)  brass band drifting up from the village, a lovely Yorkshire sound.  Our annual show is one of those get togethers where you meet up with all the folks you haven't seen forever; mums you haven't bumped in to since the playground days; ex-neighbours; the un-retireds!  It takes forever to walk round the tent, because there are children to be brought up to date on, and ailments and holidays, hopefully all good news.  With there now being several blippers locally it is no surprise that the Photography section has grown considerably in size in recent years - it may soon need a show to itself!  I am pleased to note that I won two thirds and a first this year, the first for my Coppice Pond in the local views section.

It being a warm and sunny day, folks were out in large numbers, enjoying the hospitality of the Fleece next door to the Showground or, as here, listening to the Band whilst having their pint or cuppa.   It's always good to see such a good turnout in return for the hard work put in by the Horticultural Society.  As I type this, I am sitting in my kitchen with the door open listening to the auctioneer selling off the produce, all for charity.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.