Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Seen for Miles Around

Out early, as ever, firstly walking as the sun rose.  I'd taken the drone out with the intention of taking a shot something like this.  This is the telecommunications tower at Pye Green on Cannock Chase.  It can be seen for miles around and I often use it to orientate myself while out walking.  I've provided the wiki entry below for the tower, though I have some doubts that it could be seen from the moon!

The camera on the drone is not in the same class as my other cameras, so there is some loss of quality in the image due to exposing for the sky and having to drag detail out of the shadows.  I used one of my usual tricks by using the tower to block direct sunlight.  You can see Rugeley Power station just to the left of the tower, though the smoke is from a composting site that I believe has caught alight recently. 


Wiki Extract: 
Pye Green BT Tower is a 96.9 metres (318 ft) tall telecommunication tower built of reinforced concert at Pye Green, Staffordshire. Standing in Cannock Chase it is one of the few telecommunication towers in the United Kingdom built of reinforced concrete. Pye Green was constructed as part of the British Cold War "Backbone" radio communications network.

It is one of the few man made structures that can be seen from the moon. It's combination of elevation and height give it line-of-sight to the BT Tower in Birmingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.