What A Surprise !

This afternoon I went along to an Art Project in our area of Chesterton, run by  Kettle's Yard Art Gallery. I was expecting to see some pictures, listen to a talk and maybe see a slide show. Oh, no ! I was asked to sit at a table, given an apron to wear and a lump of clay was slapped down in front of me along with some strange tools. I had to make a plaque with a house number on it and decorate it. I have never touched clay before and had no idea how to start. Paula Armstrong, the ceramics instructor pointed me in the right direction.The official photographer took this shot with my camera. I am looking slightly amused and wearing a white top covered in small butterflies and a few bits of clay !. You can see my first effort at ceramics in the extra, which will be fired along with the others and exhibited in the Art Gallery ! What a laugh. The painting was the worst bit as some on my table, which had a wobbly leg, were still banging and rolling out their clay which made me go over the edges with the paint. Well, that's my excuse anyway. Afterwards there was free tea/coffee biscuits and cake. I was joined by friends from the camera club and some of our pictures were displayed and were going into a brochure for the area. A really pleasant afternoon. I am now removing the clay from under my finger nails. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.