Hidden Heritage

I went to Pleshey today on one of the rare occasions when it is possible to access the privately owned Norman motte and bailey castle. I joined an organised tour but that's not my thing and I gave them the slip as soon as possible and went to explore the dry moat alone. It was wonderful having the historic place under the bridge teeming with wildlife to myself. Pleshey is one of only three places in Essex mentioned by Shakespeare.

The brick bridge across the moat, which replaced an earlier wooden one, was built by Margaret of Anjou in 1450. It is one of the earliest of this type in Europe and one of our earliest brick-built structures. Shame it was repaired in the the 1960s using modern frog bricks.

I was disappointed to learn that the beacon on top of the motte, with commanding views over Essex, is no longer used owing to Health and Safety regulations. Grr. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.