I'm Not Worth It :)

I have sensitive eyes. I've bought cheap (and expensive) and bought many more times than twice trying to find a facial moisturiser that won't creep to my eyes and set them watering. The only one that fitted the bill was Estee Lauder Verite. I've been using it for years, eking it out, though at £36.00 per pot I did baulk at the price. It has been discontinued. :(

I went to John Lewis in Welwyn Garden City this afternoon as they still had stocks a month or two ago. These have now run out. I had a second best plan. The last time I got an EL purse with free samples it contained a tiny gold pot 22mm in diameter. I put this in my swimming bag and have slathered the contents liberally over my face and neck a few times after being in the pool. It felt nice and didn't affect my eyes. I decided that I'd try a pot. The girl on the counter looked shocked but went to get it. It was nicely wrapped in black and gold and comes with a little golden spatula to scoop up the cream. Price £255! So far she has never sold one. Evidently they fly off the shelf in Harrods.

A key ingredient is so called Black Diamond Truffle. That will appeal to the foodies but I don't think it is Perigord truffle as we know it. I think it is Fuscoporia obliqua a fungus that grows on birch trees that has long been known to have beneficial effects including anti-cancer, antioxidant, antisepsis and antivirus properties when taken orally. I'm not going to debunk fungi, especially as I have and really enjoyed Mushrooms, Moulds and Miracles by Lucy Kavaler. However I'm not going to pay £225 for a pot of face cream either.

I returned home with lots of little sample pots of lesser potions.   .  

      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.