TRADITIONAL HEADGEAR FOR THE CITY GENT

The Mono Monday theme for today is " Traditional" and I thought of a bowler hat.  This one belonged to my late husband.  First he was in the Metropolitan Police and wore a " Bobby's " helmet.  Then he transferred to Kent and rode a police motorcycle around the country roads so he would have worn a crash helmet.  He swapped this for a bowler hat when he began working in the City of London in the 1960's.  ( This was all way before my time ).

The bowler he bought is described on the inside rim as being  Long Oval  - so its not the normal round one. ( he did like to be different ).  It was made by Dunn & Co and the rim is made from " Best Roan Leather ".  The inside of the bowler is lined with silk and is very smart - I have put a photo in my extras.

The bowler hat  is a hard felt hat with a rounded crown created originally during 1849.  From the early 20th century bowler hats were commonly associated with businessmen working in the financial districts, also known as "City Gents". The traditional wearing of bowler hats with City business attire ended during the 1980s. During modern times bowlers are not common although the so-called City Gent remains a stereotype of Englishmen wearing a bowler and carrying a rolled umbrella.

In Scotland and Northern Ireland  the bowler hat is worn traditionally by members of the main Loyalist fraternities such as the Orange Order, the Independent Loyal Orange Institution and the Apprentice Boys of Derry for their parades and annual celebrations.

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting the Mono Monday challenge this month.

Usual Monday for me - shopping in Tesco and going to slimming club.  Weight stayed the same this week.

One strange thing happened.  I was in the bathroom and had the radio on as usual.  Switched the radio off when I went into the bedroom.  Then I heard the radio playing again.  I was sure I had switched it off.  Went back to the bathroom and switched it off.  It came on again.  This kept happening so I took the batteries out. Stupid thing.  So I have left it on the " naughty step". Hope it ceases its bad behaviour and starts working properly.

Steps today - 9,639 ( I will reach 10,000 by midnight - even if it means marching up and down the hall to get the last few )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.