If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Brougham Castle from Beacon Edge.

This afternoon I needed to pop into town.  so mid afternoon off I went calling in at the studio for a cuppa and chat on the way.  Mistake number one.  Having done my shopping I noticed the car was short on petrol.  I thought "go to the garage we normally use".  Mistake number two.

The results of mistakes one and two were I had to pass 2 schools just as the parents and buses were collecting and I a route past road works so the traffic chose was almost gridlocked.

Having filled the car I thought I would be clever and save time by going along Beacon Edge and down through Carelton and out to the A66 round about.  Mistake number 3.  The road I wanted to use was closed!  so I had to make an even longer detour.  The only good point was that as I was on Beacon edge I decided to stop and take some shots.  The Castle was standing out nicely in the late afternoon sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.