Decorative Onion

When l had my allotment l always let some of my onions go to seed because l always thought their flower heads were so pretty.
I've continued this in my garden and left half a dozen in my raised beds to get to this stage.
I've always loved alliums and of course they belong to the same family but their flowering season has long gone so onion heads fill the space nicely.
The stems are rigid but the heads are a bit more floppy than an allium nonetheless every little bud contains a tiny black onion seed.
Top tip, if you ever do grow them to this stage, don't use them as cut flowers as l once did- the house stunk of raw onions!

This crop looked particularly attractive this morning as they were bathed in sunlight.
It really does look like we are going to enjoy a beautiful warm and sunny Tuesday.
Thanks to dbifulco for hosting Tiny Tueday this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.