Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Male muscles

On Friday when I attended that landscape workshop with Charlie Waite, he and I had a very interesting conversation about portraiture and photographing the male nude and male muscles - it seems it is an area that has not yet been 'overdone'.

In desperation for something to photograph, I asked Luke if I could take some photos while he was working out - we have some gym equipment at home, its not like I stalked him at the public gym! He was busy working out and not posing for me, so he just continued with his regular sets and could not stop to pose, so these photos were very tricky to get as he was moving about and it was hard to focus. The lighting was poor, but I did not want to use flash as it is not a large space and I would then get shadows on the walls which I wanted to avoid - so I have increased the ISO which brings in noise and then I added graininess to get the effect I wanted. Which has resulted in it looking like he has a spotty back which he hasn't! From all of this you will realise that I am not happy with the result, but its the first of many such attempts and I had spent enough time faffing with this so did not have time to go shoot anything else.

I am disappointed to hear that The Great British Bake Off is moving from BBC One to Channel 4 (they offered more money for the show). I hate watching on Channel 4 with all those adverts, even though I record it is still a nuisance having to fast forward through adverts. I suppose this means the show will now be shortened to fit into the one hour programme slot and have all those stupid adverts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.