I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

SNAIL SLIME

This morning I spent quite a bit of time with my head down and a** up in the front yard. We have a patch that is in the healing process from a tree removal. The grass has not filled in yet so there are some bare spots. I noticed a few little mushrooms and decided to go out and see what kind of macro I could get from my 35mm with a 20mm extension tube.

I was blown away with how close I could get and what I was seeing. It appears we have quite a snail colony in that area. These creatures are no more than 1/4" in diameter. Don't let anyone tell you that snails are slow. Trying to focus on them when they are in motion is almost impossible. I was going to try my luck with focus stacking, but that didn't happen.

This one was pretty stationary and the mushroom was more interesting than the other ones that were totally intact. If you look closely, you can see the bits of slime that it has left on the grass and on the edges of the mushroom.

I am sure my neighbors were wondering what on earth I was doing, but they are used to seeing me doing some rather strange things.

I am grateful that a whole new world has been opened up to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.