Tiny Tuesday : : Gizmo

*Warning…this turned into a rant. Perhaps if I had written it this morning when I had something a little more philosophical in mind it wouldn't be quite so hysterical. I DO of course realize that without computer technology and all the people who used computer technology to save it, I wouldn't have this platform to rave a bit. If you're not up to it, please feel to skip the rest….

This morning I was standing at the kitchen counter changing the old rabies tag on Ozzie's collar for a new one.  It is really difficult to pry open the little clasp thingy and keep it open whilst trying to insert the tag into the little gap and slide it around to the double part without breaking a nail. 

There are lots of relics around rom a simpler time that have never changed, perhaps because they work and there is no other, better or more efficientl way to accomplish what they do. Annoying as the little clasp thingy is, once it is in place, it will keep the tag on Ozzie's collar for four years until he needs another rabies shot.

The problem with computer technology is that it seems to generate more problems and more paperwork even though it was supposed to eliminate them.  Every visit to the doctor is spent staring into space while my doctor stares at the screen, entering information that had already been put there by the medical assistant, who got it from the pile of forms I had just filled out.

My computer is telling me that my hard drive is almost full. I just spent hours organizing photos and deleting a lot. What, pray tell, is it full of ?  I can look it up, but the little graph is not informative. It says 75% of the hard drive is full of "other"….

OilMan's computer refuses to work because it still has vestiges of his life as an oil man on it and blocks him from doing certain things…like fill out a form for the  new company mandated insurance management company that is taking over our company mandated health plan. 

Time to get out the old fountain pen and write a letter to the new dentist asking him why he needs to know my drivers' license number….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.