Changes

As OilMan said the other morning, "fall is falling". Most mornings are crisp and  clear, but the afternoon temperatures are much cooler, The sun is lower in the sky and the light has changed to that slightly golden tone  that precedes winter.It is difficult to know how to dress for chilly mornings and sunny afternoons which turn to dusk before we are ready for it.Boots are making an appearance although I saw a young woman wearing her above the knee version with very tiny shorts….

I have just looked up the forecast for the weather in the Canadian Rockies where we will be next week. Looks like it will be winter there with cold nights and rainy days…not ideal for hiking. I am putting off trying to pack since it will be an entirely different climate. It will take me awhile to locate such items as wooly hats, scarves and gloves and a parka, so I had best get to it…maybe tomorrow….

Will leaves for college on Saturday…the beginning of a new era. It is also Dana's 50th birthday, but I suspect she won't be celebrating until later when she has Will all settled into his dorm. I will miss him.

I sat around in various parts of the garden with my camera today, reflexes slowed considerably by a developing cold. I am going between a camera with a good telephoto lens which takes forever to focus, and a camera that has a fast shutter and crisp focus but not much range. Neither of them seemed to be quite right today, but I liked this shot of a butterfly amongst the zinnias, almost mirroring them  against a warm blue sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.