Acorn Woodpecker

They're everywhere. They are at the very top of the pricking order. They have filled up  the notches in the split rail fence and the overlapping fronds of the palm trees. When we had the rain gutters cleaned out, the driveway was covered with acorns. When we put wire over the gutters, they stuff acorns under the roof tiles. There are acorns in the knot holes in the telephone poles and . in the pecked in the roof gable. There is one pecking on the wall right behind my head as I write. I expect to see a red head pop through a crack in the wall any minute now….I'm sure he could stare me down with that crazed gaze. He still looks like a clown to me but perhaps a clown out of a Stephen KIng novel…

I've been walking around gathering items and making piles of things to go into a rather small suitcase. It's just about perfect tee shirt weather here and supposed to warm up as if often does this time of year. It  looks like the temperature is going to plummet in Lake Louise by the time we we get there. which makes packing a challenge. OilMan decided that he needed to have a rain poncho that would cover his backpack and a hat that would keep the rain off his glasses. I told him if it was raining that hard he wouldn't be finding me on rock face, trail or even outside! 

The part of the day not spent packing was spent making a lemon meringue pie. We are going over to Dana and Jim's to give Will a final sendoff as they are taking him to San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly tomorrow. He has always preferred lemon to chocolate ….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.