New House

I took all the paperwork to the solicitors on Tuesday saying we'd like to exchange and complete this week if possible. They came back and said we could exchange but the mortgage company like five days in between exchange and completion. Mr K decided that was ridiculous and told asked the solicitor to tell ask the mortgage company that we'd like to exchange on Thursday and complete on Friday please. 
So that's what happened. We exchanged yesterday and completed today. Woohoo!!!
I went for a lovely walk with Mrs A round Caldecotte Lake this morning - the sum total of our training for Pretty Muddy tomorrow!!! - and just as I was about to pull into Ikea on the way home - Mr K called to say he was on his way to Buckingham - for no reason - so I should drive back to Buckingham too - for no reason!!!
We went into the estate agents together and picked up the keys to our new house.
Our house.
We drove straight to the house, opened the door together and went in.
I wish I could say we skipped happily from room to room sipping champagne and laughing with happiness.
Unfortunately I had an absolute wobble - hated it, focused on how terrible it all looked, how many wires there were. Everywhere. Seriously you have never seen so many wires and ariels in your life!! How shit it was and what a terrible mistake we've made.
Then I got upset that I was ruining moving day for Mr K like the one where they swap apartment in Friends.
I hated the gothic black fleur de lis door handles (fourteen pairs of them. How did I not notice them when I viewed the house?!!!!) I hated the mish-mash of sockets and light switches, the kitchen was far worse than I remembered it and there was a funny smell in our bedroom. I hated the terrible paint finishes everywhere and the botch job where the wooden floors have been laid and the skirts and door frames have been hacked away to make them fit. Sitting on the floor a foot away from it probably didn't help!!
Mr K was amazing. Trying to reassure and comfort me, knowing that this is just what I do and it will pass. He even said that if I didn't feel better about the house eventually we'd just sell it!
Before going to get the Little Misses we went to the new coffee shop for a very quick late lunch and a calming cup of tea. It didn't help - I sat there whinging too!!! And hated myself while I did it.
Then I went to get the Little Misses to take them back to the house. Miss L burst into tears when she realised where we were going and said she "just wanted to go home". Great start!!!!
Weirdly as soon as we got back to the house with the Little Misses it all looked a bit less shit started to feel a bit more like the happy family home it's going to be.
I'll gloss over the squabble about who was going to go in first, and the fight to get up the stairs first and the tears, sulking and whinging!!! Ha ha, maybe that's what made it feel like home!!
We spent a couple of hours going round with pliers and bin bags getting rid of some of the many thousands of nails and screws in the walls, some of the many thousands of miles of obsolete wires and ariels, and painting testers on the walls. Miss E especially was so sweet and helpful - clearly not afraid of a bit of DIY!!
Eventually it was time to go. We took the Little Misses home and I left Mr K to it while I headed off to Bicester for dinner with Miss K. 
It was lovely to see her as ever and my biriyani was delicious as ever.
My God I was tired when I got home. It's been a big day!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.