London View

What an unexpectedly brilliant day I had today!!
I was all set to go to the gym from school but as I got into the car I got a call from Mr K in London.
He had a meeting this morning and needed his ID card and passport. Which he'd left at home!
Idiot!
So, being the wonderful wife that I am, I zoomed home to get them, changed out of my gym gear (treating the goldfish to the sight of me doing a comedy hopping fall as I tried to get my leggings off in a hurry!) and zoomed to Milton Keynes to get the next train. 
I met Mr K and his colleague at Euston, handed over his things and they dashed off for a taxi.
So before 10.30 I found myself in London with a day to kill. Fantastic!
I went to Oxford Circus on the tube and had a browse round the shops. I treated myself to a couple of things and then headed to Selfridges for much needed tea. 
And a blissful browse of the Christmas Shop!
While I was there Mr A messaged me and suggested lunch so I jumped up to the tube to Southwark and met him near his office by the OXO Tower.
Lunch was my treat as he'd "forgotten" his wallet. Sneaky!
I had a healthy chicken and avocado sandwich. And I didn't eat my chips!
Mr A had the biggest platter of chilli nachos that I have ever seen. It was like a volcano bubbling off the plate!
It was so nice to catch up and I enjoyed my lunch hour in the city!
Once Mr A went back to the office I headed to the river, stopping off to admire a landscape photography exhibition at the bottom of the OXO tower.
Walking along the South Bank back to Hungerford Bridge I felt so happy! The sun was shining and there was a real buzz with skateboarders, street art, performers, book stalls..... London is ace!!
I crossed the river to Embankment and then headed back up to Euston and the train home.
What a brilliant day!!
I had to dash home from the station rather than straight to school as I'd forgotten Miss E's leotard for gymnastics tonight. Annoying as it doubled the journey!
I made it to school with minutes to spare, picked up the Little Misses and set off to gymnastics.
Miss L and I had a snuggly hour in the car listening to the Famous Five and reading her school book. It was just lovely - she is such a cuddler!
Miss E was giddy when she came out. She'd got her Bronze Award - the first one of her new level and was very proud of herself.
To celebrate we went to Frankie and Bennys rather than McDonalds. 
Miss E had an enormous pizza (and managed it all except for one slice!!), Miss L had mustard with a burger and baked potato. And a bit of extra mustard for good measure.
I had sparkling mineral water and watched them eat!!
Home to slump exhaustedly in front of The Great British Bake Off,  eat a cuppa noodle thing for dinner as I just couldn't be bothered to do anything else, mumble incoherently at Mr K and take myself off to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.