The Road

One advantage of having to get up at an ungodly hour and get the Little Misses to school is that I get to drive my lovely school run again. 
So many stalks and leaves and wispy bits of grass. So many Blip possibilities!!
Day two wasn't quite the organisational triumph of day one.
I didn't get anything ready last night and had a bit of a panicky rush this morning trying to find PE kits, trainers and coats, writing in their homework books, washing up and refilling their snack boxes, and writing their names in shoes and on bags and on PE tops because I was too lazy to iron in any more!
But we got there on time, woohoo!
Yesterday the Little Misses went to school in their summer uniforms. As the day went on more and more photos appeared on Facebook of their friends in winter uniforms. I was a bit worried they'd be the only ones in the whole school and might feel a bit conspicuous!
This morning Miss E asked if she could wear her kilt because she was the only one in summer uniform and she didn't like it. 
I told her it was far too hot for a shirt and tie and she may as well spend as long as possible in her dress. Usually until after half term.
I didn't mention that I haven't bought any winter uniform so she just has to suck it up!!!!
But I decided that it's tough enough being seven without being the odd one out - in a class of four girls! - so I went to the school uniform shop this morning and bought her shirts, socks, a jumper and her first tie. And I ordered the kilt in the diddy size that she needs. So as soon as it's delivered she can choose what she wants to wear. She spent all night practising tying her tie which was very sweet!
So after spending a fortune in the shop I went to Tescos and spent a fortune. Then I came home and finally got round to booking our trip to Disneyland at Easter. I've been meaning to get round to it for months. Naturally the price has gone up with all my procrastinating so I thought it was time!
Oh my God I have never known such a rigmarole to make a simple booking!
We want to book a suite for one night and then a normal hotel room for four nights. I rang the other day to book and the agent said it would have to be two separate bookings so I thought I may as well do it online.
I did the first booking, filled in all our details, filled out all the credit card details, billing address and ticked all the "no" boxes to all the extras.
Then I did it all again for the second booking. When I got to the deposit amount I was surprised to see it was the same as the first booking. Going back I saw that the details were all the same as the first booking. Weird.
So I opened a new tab, went through the whole process again - dates, hotel,  room type, names, address, dates of birth, yes to some extras, credit card details, billing address and clicked "confirm".
You have already submitted your holiday details, there is no need to re-send
Oh my God!
I waited until I had confirmation of the first booking and then tried the second one again. 
It worked.
Ten minutes later I get a call querying the duplicate booking.
Duplicate? It's different dates and different room types! It's not rocket science. And you were the ones that told me I had to make two separate bookings!!
Ten minutes later I get anther call to say the second payment had been declined and could I give them another card number.
No!
The card's fine, it's probably the bank thinking it's weird. That I'm stuck in the Groundhog booking from hell!!!
Eventually payment is made and I get confirmation.
And now I need a holiday to recover!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.