Dragon Sperm Wars

I walked the Amwell Nature Reserve Dragonfly Trail this afternoon. Plenty on the wing in the hot sunshine. I spotted a conjoined pair in the air and pinpointed where they landed. I pushed myself through the reeds and stood on a reedy tussock so that I could get a decent view. I am well versed in the sex life of dragons, having researched it around this time last year. It's fascinating. :) https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2089130029714769643

I haven't seen this before. Another male kept buzzing the mating pair and in my extra pics you can see that he stayed close all ready to grab the female, remove the first male's sperm and impregnate her himself. Suddenly the conjoined pair took off, still attached to one another. I wasn't expecting that, fell off my tussock into the water and filled my wellies.  

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.