Saga Pearl II

16.9C with mist/fog all day. Light SSE/SE breeze.

Apothecary7 was upstairs to close a window last night and noticed a cruise ship had come into harbour. When we took Maeve the Deerhound out for her last walk of the day we went round to the harbour to have a look. The Saga Pearl II was at the new quay and looked rather large compared to the cargo ships we usually see.

After lunch Maeve and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town. All was quiet on board the cruise ship. Most of the passengers were probably ashore on excursions. That was usually the pattern when Apothecary7 and I went on cruises (on even bigger ships) in the Med. The ship would sail to a new port each evening (occasionally sailing for a whole day) and there would be a choice of excursions in each place or you could sometimes just go ashore by yourselves which we did in some ports.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Enya on the Clip (The Celts then Dark Sky Island). I went out Low Askomill to the old shipyard and kept going out the North shore path past Baraskomel farm and out as far as the gate on the last stretch to Macringan's point where I turned round and came back. The visibility varied during the walk. I could see Davaar island when I got out on the path beyond the shipyard but by the time I was coming back it was lost in the mist. Only two or three very small creel boats were going about in the loch. There was less mist over the town when I came back and that was the best chance I had for a shot of the cruise ship.

On the way back I walked round the esplanade to the harbour and came back home through town.

Afternoon music ... Electric Light Orchestra, Discovery, and Time. Gloria Estefan, Destiny (which I used to listen to on my CD Walkman whilst sunbathing on deck on cruises. Nothing wrong with my long term memory !).

E-PL5 f/10 1/320 sec. ISO-200 25mm

Extra: Saga Pearl II night shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.