Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Elk at Rocky Mountain National Park

We took a long ride and had a long 14 hour day on the the 14th to take a ride through the National Park..but on the way, we stopped by to see Pipersmom (Elaine) and her hubby Ed and of course Piper!    After a brief visit and some lunch along Lake Granby, we started up to the park which was not far from Lake Granby. 

 It was a little cloudy and the sun kept popping through which made some nice shadows.  The aspens were gold and orange at the lower elevations.  We were hoping to see some elk at Moraine Park on the east side of the park..but what should happen was they were at one of the highest parks..over 11,000 feet up in the clouds.  This guy and another (see the extra) were sniffing around and trying to get some female attention but those females were apparently really not interested just yet. Very exciting to see the elk so close as they are magnificent animals.

These photos were from my spare camera with the 70-300mm lens..I got about 80 shots of different poses (like a portrait studio shoot!)

However, my regular Canon has 460 photos that I have not even begun to look at yet.  I know I will be reliving the whole ride.   I hope to make a slideshow to show what the trip to the east and back to the west looked like.  It was AWESOME!    My hubby is not the best person to deal with heights..with no guard rails most of the time!  I kept telling him to move over to the edge and get out of the middle of the road!     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.