Today's Special

By Connections

About Time

We've been about 80 miles south, in Shoreline, helping Phil's son the past few days. Before we headed for home this afternoon, we stopped off at an excellent art restoration place for me to drop off the trio of tiny photos of my grandmother, circa 1908, to be mounted in preparation for framing.

I also took this elegant horse, which stands about a foot high, to have the little hole visible here repaired. It belonged to my grandmother's half-sister, Mary Margaret, called "B" by the family. She was ten years older than my grandmother and never married, living her entire life (1880-1957) in the family home, "Battlemont," built in southwestern Virginia in1838.  

"B", as I noted in that earlier blip (see link above), "was an artist, as well as raising flowers and chickens, making butter for family use and to sell, and cooking wonderful meals for the extended family over many years." I was a horse-crazy little girl, and used to admire this lovely statue in her room when our family visited Battlemont every summer of my childhood.

The statue came to me at age 10, after my great-aunt's death, and it has traveled many miles from its original home over the past sixty years. With my 70th birthday coming up in a few months, I'm finally having this treasured horse restored to its original beauty and will give it "pride of place" in my home, along with other family treasures. 

(The extra photo shows Mary Margaret ("B") at age 12 on the right, with her favorite cousin, Bess McClaugherty. Her very short haircut, compared to her cousin's curls, might have taken place when she had a high fever, in hopes of keeping her head -- and her brain -- cooler.)


Blip 1638

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.