Tiny Trio

It's been quite a while since I posted a genealogical blip, or done any further genealogical research, for that matter. The siren call of birds, squirrels, and other wildlife has been too loud to ignore!

I came across these *tiny proof photos of my maternal grandmother, Evelyn Greenwood St. Clair -- known as Memie by her 14 grandchildren -- several months ago. It was only today, as I prepared to photograph them for Tiny Tuesday, that I noticed that they fit together like a jigsaw puzzle!  

A note in what looks like my mother's handwriting on the back of one of the proofs says they were taken around 1908. Stamped on the back is the name and address of a photo studio in Norfolk, Virginia, and the manager's name; alas, I could find no mention of it on Google. 

Norfolk is on the coast of southeast Virginia, near the border with North Carolina, a journey of nearly 400 miles from her home in northwest Virginia. It's unlikely that an 18-year-old girl would have made such a trip on her own... was Evelyn going to visit extended family? Did she travel with her older stepsister, age 28?

Lots of possibilities to explore!

(Osuzanna, host of August's Tiny Tuesdays, has a stunning dragonfly portrait today -- don't miss it!)

*Each tiny proof photo is 2.25 inches x 1.75 inches / 57 mm x 45 mm)

Blip 1604

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.