New Kid in Town

This is the first Douglas squirrel I've seen whose tail was outlined in white, making his current nickname "Snowy," despite his eye-catching deep orange chest and belly. 

Snowy was enjoying himself so much in the double-serving low feeder (see extra photo) that I could stand quite close to him. He emerged onto the deck rail with a good-sized chunk of seed-filled suet, and enjoyed most of it at his leisure, before finally manifesting the good sense to scamper away.

I also photographed four fine-looking folks on the deck today -- see Phil's blip. 

We're in the midst of a few unusually hot days, kept from being even higher by smoke from wildfires in British Columbia, north of us. Our forecasted temperatures are lower than those in Portland and Seattle, but still enough to make me stay inside with the fan on and lots of cool drinks. I'm fortunate to be able to do that.
 
Blip 1843

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.