Late afternoon sun

We drove to the beachhouse yesterday evening, with the boys. Their mother is the wardrobe mistress for the school show, and had to be there for the whole show. The previous two nights they stayed with us for dinner and went home with her after she had managed to get away from the show a little early. 

All my plans of taking them for a bush walk came to nought, due to me developing a bad head cold, and persistent and moderately heavy rain the whole morning. C joined us for a slightly late lunch, and then left to take them back so they could go to the last night of the show.

By this time the rain had stopped, and I went down to the edge of the bay with the sigma zoom lens J gave me to try out. Started with a paddle boarder who shortly after I took a few photos, conceded that paddling into the wind and against the incoming tide was "too bloody hard". He came to shore and carried the board up the 75 steps.

I continued around the point. Pottering around by the rocks extending from the bottom of the cliff was a fully black morph of the variable oystercatcher (Torea pango, a photo of which is today's extra. I also tried for inflight shots of a couple of terns. Need a lot more practice. 

Just after I got back to the beachhouse the sun broke through the clouds, and the dappled light on the freesias beneath the pohutukawa caught my attention.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.