an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Bimbo

Team GB are far more reliable than I am used to with football. So with them winning their group I was off to Wembley to see Mexico v Senegal today. We had decided to support Mexico for a few hours and so we got out the mexician shirts my friend brought back from his holiday last year and I found some sombreros.

I was leaving the rest of the family at home today and the little ones waved me off wearing their sombreros also. It was quite strange to be back in Victoria so soon but at least I knew where to get a good prematch pasty. The tube to Wembley was a bit busier than I ahd been used to but we were ther in good time. My friend was wearing his mexican national team shirt and I was wearing a mexican club teams shirt that he brought back for me mainly on the basis that its sponsor was Bimbo, the bread company.

With our shirts and hats we seemed to get a lot of attention with lots of photo requests. I was getting some getting some banter about my shirt from some of the mexican fans but we all were enjoying the party. As we were about to enter the stadium a telly camera was in my face and I was being asked questions about my club of choice. We managed to get through them saying some things to camera quickly before being asked to say I supported the team in spanish. As we left the camera crew the cameraman told me how he did not approve of my shirt. We were starting to realise why we were getting more attention than most.

Once in we found our seats which were amazing. I have never been to the new Wembley before so to have seats near the front just under the cover right behind one of the goals was incredible. The game too was brilliant as were the authentic mexican waves. Actually not having your own team there to support took away all the pain and tension and we got to enjoy the party. It also helped that both teams really went for it making it a great game of attacking football with some incredible goalkeeping and some shocking defending. We were also lucky enough that the game went to extra time meaning we got to enjoy it for longer. we were hoping for a penalty shootout due to our great seats but two defensive shockers meant our team for the day came in winners, even if the Senegal team had won us round a bit with their play.

As we left the mexican party had already started outside. We headed out into the crowds and quickly a camera was in our faces again and again the cameraman told me my shirt was not good. I asked why and he walked off. I decied to look into this a bit more whilst we queued. It turns out that my Bimbo shirt is, as I already knew one of the biggest and most popular teams in Mexico. What I did not know was that they are also the most hated in Mexico and a lot of the world, generally because they are owned by a media company which pretty much run the league out there. Given the tightly packed crowd around me I felt a bit vulnerable and decided it was time to go back to Team GB and to button up my shirt, though the sombrero stayed on, well it was sunny.

One bundled on the tube we grabbed some dinner and then set for home to end my Olympic adventure worryingly trying to double check my requested spanish from earlier. An excellent day at an excellent Wembley at an excellent match even if they didn't like my team, I liked theirs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.