Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number 60

Four new butterflies arrived in my nursery today, three males and this one beautiful female.  I have to confess that I was a bit smitten with her - her coloration is a little darker than normal and she's...well, she's just beautiful.  When I went to release her, she didn't seem to want to leave my hand and it took a fair amount of coaxing to get her onto the buddleia.  Two of her male siblings took off high up into a hickory tree, where they'll no doubt roost for the night.  The third male, apparently not getting the memo that monarchs don't eat for the first 24 hours, started immediately nectaring on the buddleia!  There's one in every crowd, isn't there?

Alternative blip posted on Flickr - a hummer in a most peculiar position!  Also posted a time-lapse video of #59 eclosing and inflating his wings - in under 30 seconds!

A very rainy morning so I spent it indoors (so did the monarchs).  Planning a nice farm-egg and leek fritatta this evening for dinner with a salad.  Simple and light.  

Thank you to everyone who left hearts, stars and comments on my little hummer yesterday.  You made my day.

Happy Monday, people.  And don't forget that tomorrow is Tiny Tuesday - be sure to tag your entries TT69!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.