Dexter: "You Rang, Madam?"

You may not know this, but tabbycats migrate too. Or at least OURS does. He has seasonal spots where he sleeps, and when the seasons turn, he migrates. Oh, it isn't a long migration. No, no. Not like the hummingbirds or the butterflies. No, not that far at all.

In summertime, Dexter's favorite spot to nap in the afternoons is in a box on top of several other boxes by the deck door windows. From there, he can keep a watchful eye on those interlopers, the chipmunks.

But he's recently forsaken the box, and instead, he's been taking that all-important afternoon nap (every bit as important as the morning and evening naps, of course) on a chair in his bedroom that is covered by a soft lavender blankie.

And that is just what he was doing on this day. I was working at home and took a break to check on the cat. I do this when I don't know where he is, both because I love him and enjoy looking at him, and also because tabbycats unsupervised have been known to wreak havoc.

You'll be happy to hear (as I was) that no havoc was being wreaked at this juncture. Instead, that tabbycat had just had his lunch (half a can of Fancy Feast), had just washed his lily-white feet, and was settling in for his nap.

He was all stretched out and comfy looking in his little chair, the very picture of both elegance and relaxation. He looked up at me as though to ask what I wanted: "You rang, Madam?" (Bonus: pinkee pinkee toepads!)

The soundtrack: Stevie Wonder, with I Just Called to Say I Love You.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.