Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

A day for sketching

I've started to think about another print to go alongside the one of the Rotunda.  I'd thought about Archer's Gate, but having spent a bit of time drawing there today I'm not too sure it's the right thing to do.  The mature trees make it feel much too enclosed.  I also tried exploring from the other side and I think this might be the view I opt for in the end, there is a much greater feeling of space and I could always add a few sheep into the picture.  I think it will need to be something of a construct as a very large Beech tree blocks part of the view of Archers Gate.  It was interesting to see that they are thinning out many of the very mature trees on this bank.  I hope they don't take out too many, there are places where the patterns they make are stunning.  Linked to the  Wentworth Castle Gardens Project, `Voices in the Gardens'.

The light was very flat while I was there, but fortunately no rain.  An hour later when I retraced my steps to pick up Ann from the bus the light was glorious.  Sod's Law!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.