Small Tortoiseshell on Michaelmas Daisies

When I arrived at Oakley Grange, a man in denim overalls and broad brimmed hat was struggling with a spade to clear a patch of soil next to the overgrown garden.

He refused to let me take his photo. I asked  him why, and he couldn't really answer. We talked about how the garden had got neglected.

When I came out of the cafe an hour later, he had gone, with little evidence of further digging. I think he'd be better employed tidying up the beautiful plants, which include a throng of Michaelmas Daisies. Fortunately for my blipping, a small tortoiseshell butterfly happened along and posed on one of them.

I'd assessed the amount of 'drop' my canvases will need on the wall. I'm getting nervous that my friend won't be able to help me prepare them and the prints for hanging. 'Have faith,' says Len.

I mounted three prints for competition and had a mini brainwave about backing the photos with the card I had cut out for the window. Framing tape is SO useful. Doing it that ways saves half the mounting board I would normally use.

Bach Choir tonight with a stand in conductor, who's a singer. This is useful because he understands how the different parts need to practice their individual lines. We're combining with the Leicester Philharmonic Choir and the Leicestershire Chorale to form the Bardi Chorus in mid-October, singing Elgar's Dream of Gerontius at De Montfort Hall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.