In Flight

I foreswore breakfast in my bid to get to Ashby de la Zouch in time for my footcare appointment. I'd missed a session two weeks previously. I do like the footbath at the start of proceedings and always feel better after my feet have been serviced. Carol has offered to sell some of my cards from reception. Goody!

Then to The Lamb next door for a super breakfast. When I rejected bread and sausages, the staff clocked that I was coeliac, because the boss is too. They hurriedly opened a can of Heinz baked beans for me as the beans they normally use aren't gluten free.

They were ever so friendly. They told me that they're launching a new menu in a month's time which will purposely list gluten free options and gluten free sausages for breakfast. As it is, they can already offer me gluten free fish and chips and curry. The kitchen has a fryer dedicated to gluten free frying. I felt so looked after. Plus Basil can come in too.

Home to work on mounting two more photos. Gorgeous sunny weather. I opened both doors of the conservatory. Basil sat on the armchair to watch. Then I noticed a spider wrapping up his prey in a web on the porch. Rather like Shelob wrapping up Frodo Baggins in LOTR. So I was distracted enough to find my camera and macro lens. And this hoverfly happened by too. Really pleased to capture him on the wing.

I mounted the photo and slid it into a ready made picture frame. I didn't like it at all. Apart from the fact that the perspex was scratched, the whole thing didn't feel secure. It looked tacky. This meant finding a supplier of decent picture frames online. I live in hope.

After stirfry with rice noodles, I shall head off to Leicester for a rehearsal at Judy's of the Brahms' Requiem to be sung on Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.