Squirrel Friday

We have a whole family of these little guys and gals on the deck this year. They are smaller and browner than most of the Eastern Gray Squirrels that live around here but I do think that is what they are. My guess is that they are siblings and some of the bigger ones are their parents. They frequently chase each other all over the deck and make quite a noise while the do that. The cats are very excited when that happens. The squirrels have been getting bolder and will come up to me and touch a peanut in my hand but then back quickly away and sometimes run and hide. So far nobody has actually taken a peanut from my hand yet. This guy was taking peanuts from the water where I put them to attract the jays.

Thank you all for your kind responses to my blip yesterday. I am feeling somewhat more relaxed today about it all. I've added another option to my list of what to do if and when. I talked to a fellow about getting a reverse mortgage on my home. That would allow me to stay and not have to come up with an alternative that would require moving. That would be ever so much easier. I'm just starting to look into this idea. Any of you with thoughts or experience in this area, tell me what you think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.