Shine Walk for Cancer

Today was the big day for Eileen. Here she is all dressed up in her gear, ready for her half marathon, along with David (who'll be walking beside her, but not officially) and friend Alison, also doing the half marathon.

Eileen had to go into work first thing for her school's open day. David and I went and did a quick shop for supplies, and he also took me for a lovely sunny drive in the country in his 1965 Riley. What a treat that was. A gorgeous day for a drive in the country-side.

Back home for a rest before we all headed into town. Dropped the walkers to the starting point of the walk at Canada Water station. I had booked to go to a Vivaldi concert at St Martin-in-the-Fields and Eileen's sister Brenda came with me.

So after we'd dropped the walkers off, Brenda and I headed to Trafalgar Square. There was some big Malaysian-fest going on there, so we thought we'd check it out after the concert.

Picked up the tickets and had a VERY quick soup at the Crypt downstairs. The church, which I'm sure has been renovated recently looked warm and inviting. It was a concert by candlelight.

Beautiful setting for a concert. Loved listening to familiar pieces and the conductor was quite interactive in sharing what the Four Seasons piece of music is all about and dissected parts of it to explain each season and how the instruments depict what is happening in the music. It was fascinating, enlightening and so clever. I will never listen to this music again without my wondering to exactly what Vivaldi was trying to create with the music. Just unbelievable. Can't wait to share this with Martin. How I wish he was there as we both love going to these concerts. What a treat and I'm so pleased I had Brenda to share it with.

We did have a quick walk through Trafalgar Square later and had some delicious Malaysian food too. Brenda said she really enjoyed the evening and trying this different food, which she would never otherwise do.

A wonderful evening, and I've heard that the walkers have past the 8 mile point, 3 1/2 hrs in! Yay. Well done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.