Day 3 of the Hepworth Gallery photo-project group

Back in Wakefield yesterday where it was good to see some of the photographs of some other members of our group.  There was one set I really liked that involved blending multiple images together that were all built around a similar central theme - in the first case a photo poster of a man in a display cabinet in Warsaw.  It was really atmospheric and engaging.  He also showed us small fragments that had been cropped from the whole, which were also very interesting.  Some particularly interesting black & white street photographs were shown, including a set of images taken in Georgia (some years ago). Also an interesting project described by one of our tutors that has some parallels with our `Voices in the Garden' project at Wentworth Castle Gardens.  I felt that, the Staffordshire country house project was lacking the words or voices that would have made it come alive.  It felt to me that sometimes photographs on their own are not enough.  

I managed another short photowalk in the afternoon where I revisited an area of Wakefield where I used to work.  The building that housed the Urban Studies Centre has now been given a make-over and now houses an organisation supporting young people.  I was a little surprised to see the new plastic double-glazed windows replacing the original wooden ones that contained hand-blown glass.  It's a Grade 2 listed building and I always understood that Grade 2 listing was about preserving the exterior of a building.

I was using the walk to continue my multiple exposures project, though I'm not sure it was a very successful afternoon.  I quite liked this one taken in the Thornhill Street graveyard of a feather superimposed on a different gravestone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.