No sign of the whisky!

... but the grouse stayed on the wall long enough for me to take five single shots before deciding that maybe it was time to fly.  Taken on my morning walk as I passed along the farm road on my way to Ainthorpe Rigg.  I was on the look out for fungi once I got to the moorland, but there wasn't too much in evidence.  The best were the Earthballs that I spotted near the main gate onto the moor.  

After lunch we had a walk from the cottage into Castleton where there is a very nice tea-shop.  Our nature surprise in the afternoon was a small cloud of four Red Admirals that flew above our heads as we passed through a field gate. And then later, a large flock of Lapwings (approx 30) when we were near the church.  And I'm fairly sure I heard and then saw a Green Woodpecker in flight as we approached Castleton.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.