Lovely Lenci

Last night, during a Skype call for JL's birthday, she told me that her lovely Lenci (Cousteau's sister, playmate and bookend) passed away. She was always the tough one. She was so laid back and to die so suddenly was a huge shock to JL especially, but to all those who have had the pleasure of knowing this sweet dog over the past 10.5 years. I cried myself to sleep last night and am mourning the lovely Lenci so keenly. I just want to be there with JL right now.

I wrote a poem. It's not very good, but hopefully says some of what we feel about her loss.

Tonight I cry for you my friend
Tonight my tears do flow
Tonight I mourn your loss my dear
Too soon she had to go
 
Tonight I wish I could be there
To hold you oh so tight
To laugh and cry with you again
To miss with you her light
 
She was a shining beacon
Of Vizslas near and far
She was a friend to many
Our shining russet star
 
A sister to my Cousteau
A friend to Albie too
Her laid back, regal presence
A lady, that is true
 
She opened fridge and pantry
She scoffed what she could find
But all the while our Lenci
Was loving and was kind
 
We miss you oh so keenly
We’ll miss you every day
Oh Lenci, sweet, sweet Lenci
Now that you’ve gone away
 
Rest Lenci. Know you were loved and that you will not be forgotten. JL, know that you are not alone in your mourning and that Lenci has touched many lives. xxx


~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.