MonoMonday Challenge - 140 Cultural

This kind of scene has become unfortunately too common and part of modern culture.  I remember when I arrived in Italy back in 1998 and how impressed I was to see uniformed officers at the airports carrying toy looking but very real uzy type machine guns.  Though was sort of scary the first several times, I felt sort of comforted knowing they were there.

How the times have changed.  I don't know what is lurking, but there has been a heavy police and military presence the last few weeks.  Funny in any case how quickly you become blasé to it.  I snapped this photo on the fly because the combined military and uniformed officers had stopped someone to check him out.  Further on ahead there was also a VIP type minivan stopped on the pedestrian thoroughfare with the officers going through it.  boy-oh-boy...  It seemed to be the real deal with no real danger and I have seen others make the mistake in the past.  Mostly lost tourist in rental cars.  Anyway, leaves an impression.

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting MonoMonday this month!  Maybe I'll bump into you yet during your visit.  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.