Bygone Beauty's

CCN and I wandered into Leura this afternoon to do some shopping and called by one of the most spectacular tourist attractions in Australia.

Bygone Beauty's is the home of the world’s largest private collection of teawares, including more than 5,500 teapots from all over the world and spanning five centuries, most items are on display in the Treasured Teapot Museum.  We were greeted by proprietor "The Teapot Man" Maurice Cooper OAM.  Maurice may tell you that he's a Bygone Beauty, but far from it, his energy and enthusiasm for life is infectious.


We were delighted to see 100 "Senior Citizens" leaving the Museum and restaurant just as we arrived.  I think that came out all wrong!!  The three bus loads of oldies had obviously had the most wonderful time and one of the reasons was the amazing exhibition of Tea Cosies that are on display until the 16th of October.  I had to really restrain myself because I LOVE Tea Cosies.


There is a link on the Bygone Beauty's Website to the "Coterie of Cosies"  It's very interesting reading.

Of course we had to enjoy a cuppa and a "wee something" before we left and I managed to talk CCN out of the Scones Jam and Cream so that I could have a "wee taste" of the Apple and Cinnamon Cake!!  I promised I wouldn't post a photo of her THIS TIME!

If ever you find yourself Down Under and visiting the Blue Mountains I urge you to visit this incredible attraction.  

Finally, I was highly amused by the following Victorian Superstitions that featured in the entertaining Menu.


Victorian Tea Superstitions

If two women should pour from the same pot, one of them will have a baby within the year


To put milk in your tea before sugar is to cross the path of love, perhaps never to marry


To make tea stronger than usual, indicates a new friendship


Two teaspoons accidentally placed together on a saucer points to a wedding or pregnancy


To stir the tea in the pot anti clockwise will stir up trouble


To spill a little tea whilst making is a lucky omen



Should the lid be accidentally left off the pot you may expect a stranger bearing ill tidings……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.