"Lady Bug, Lady Bug fly away home....

...your house is on fire and your children are gone.
All except one, sweet Charlotte Ann
And she hid under the frying pan."

Dear Diary,

There are nine varieties of Lady Bug in Maine and they all look a bit different.  This one was on my counter.  They begin to come indoors at this time of year and one year I had a huge swarm of them in the barn.  They always remind me of the old nursery rhyme and I was surprised to read that there are several variations of it.  This one is in the new Nancy Drew interactive game, Ghost of Thornton Hall.

Now, that got me thinking about the old Nancy Drew stories which I loved as a child.  I use to get them from our local library and I think those books were the beginning of my love of mystery stories.  Later on I devoured Sherlock Holmes and then Agatha Christie but the passion for the mystery story began in the children's room of the Hudson Public Library in the mid-1950's.

This is what I love about doing this journal.  I thought I was going to talk about Lady bugs and I end up reminiscing about Nancy Drew stories!  That is sort of how my mind works.  One thing leads to another and all of sudden I am in a totally new and unexpected place!  I love it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.